Hitchhiking Siberia: The Urals, The City of Chelyabinsk and The Accident

The Hitchhiking Trip to Siberia – 2009
On the road from Moscow to Irkutsk
Part Three

Read in Armenian

January 14, 2009. Saying goodbye to Mars I walked slowly along the road. I was now in the Ural mountains – a border between Europe and Asia. It was past midnight, and there were no cars passing by, so after 10-15 minutes I just sat on the snow and drank a cup of hot tea. Somewhere far ahead I could hear dogs barking. Snow was falling down from the dark sky. And there was this strange feeling that I was the only one on the Earth now. It didn’t last long though. Few minutes later I saw a car coming my way. I put the thermos back in the backpack, stretched out my hand. The car stopped.
“Where are you going?” asked the driver.
“Well, now to Irkutsk and then to Buryatia,” I answered.
“Oh, nice! Then I have good news for you. I’m going all the way to Tomsk, so you have a ride for the next 2000 km. My name is Andrey.”
“Awesome, and I am Artyom, glad to meet you,” I introduced myself and got in the car. Turned out, a week earlier Andrey drove his friends, who had a flight to India, from Tomsk to Moscow and now he was returning back home. Around 4 o’clock in the morning we arrived in the city of Chelyabinsk and drove to the train station, where Andrey wanted to spend the night and take a rest. We agreed to meet in the morning when he’ll be ready to leave. I went to the common waiting hall and sat on the bench to rest for a while.
Hitchhiking in Siberia, 2009


In was cold at the train station. I had no tea left, so I went to the nearest grocery store and asked a lady to boil water for me, which she did. We talked a little bit, and upon hearing that I am hitchhiking to Irkutsk she offered me a pack of chocolate. I felt I was now on the Asian part of Russia.

I had a close friend living in Chelyabinsk, we were going to meet around 9 AM, and since I had nothing else to do, I decided to sleep on a bench. I fell asleep immediately and was only woken up around 8 AM by a little girl with curly hair who was laughing out loud. Soon my friend arrived and we went to walk in the city center. But first, we had breakfast in a Soviet style café where the most expensive dishes costed around $1.
Hitchhiking in Siberia, Russia, 2009
It was my first time in Chelyabinsk, and although it’s an industrial city, I found the city center very nice, especially the old 2-storey buildings located on the old street of Kirovka. We walked around for some time, and since none of us wanted to freeze to death, we visited an esoteric café and had a delicious Chinese white tea. Soon, I received a call from Andrey, who said that he’ll be ready to leave for Tomsk in half an hour. We took a bus to the train station and met the driver. I said goodbye to my friend, and we left. The cities of Kurgan and Omsk were ahead. Due to a hard snowfall the visibility on the road was poor, so Andrey had to drive carefully. We were talking about religion and philosophy when around 9 PM we passed Kurgan.

15 January 2009
Past midnight we stopped at a restaurant called “Stranger” in the town called Berdyuzhie to eat something. “Oh, look, this is right about you, my friend,” said Andrey to me. We laughed. For our late supper we had vegetarian soup with beans and potato pies and lemonade. I said I will pay this time, since Andrey was paying for everything. He refused, but I insisted. He eventually agreed, but warned me that if I do it again he’ll drop me off right away. I agreed.

At 2.20 AM (I remembered it very well, because I checked the time right before the accident) the rear-wheel drive of the car unexpectedly refused to act, the vehicle skidded on ice, the driver lost the control, and on the speed of 100 km/h we flew off the road straight into the bushes in the ditch.
Hitchhiking in Siberia, Russia, 2009
Fortunately, nobody was hurt, although we weren’t able to speak a word, trying to fully realize what has happened and if we are still alive or not anymore. Andrey got off the car and I followed him. Now we were stuck in the snow in the middle of hell knows where. Andrey decided to hitchhike to the nearest village to find a wheeled tractor to pull the car out. I was left to guard the vehicle and our belongings. It took Andrey half an hour to find a tractor. When they arrived, we tied the ropes and pulled the car out of the ditch. Now we were able to continue our road. But after an hour of driving Andrey decided that we had enough of adventures for the night, so at 5 AM we parked by a hotel. He paid for two rooms. We said goodnight to each other and went to sleep.

29 thoughts on “Hitchhiking Siberia: The Urals, The City of Chelyabinsk and The Accident

  1. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Start, Gosha the Driver and The Prostitutes « On The Road

  2. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Pregnant Woman, The Names and The Goodbye « On The Road

  3. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Taiga, The Crows and The Traveler’s Fate « On The Road

  4. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Café, The $20 Girls and The Arrival « On The Road

  5. Pingback: The City of Chelyabinsk « On The Road

  6. Pingback: The Miracles of Lake Baikal « On The Road

  7. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Road Back, The Jailbird and The Kamaz Trucks « On The Road

  8. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Farewell, The Stranger and The Night « On The Road

  9. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Morning, The Driver’s Story and The Road to Tomsk « On The Road

  10. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Nostalgy, The Frozen Toes and The Curious Kid « On The Road

  11. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Cold Night, The Sunset and The Euphoria « On The Road

  12. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Corrupted Police and The Three Hitchhikers « On The Road

  13. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Robbery Attempt, The Café Village and The End « On The Road

  14. Pingback: The Siberian Hitchhiking Trip – 2009 « On The Road

  15. Pingback: The Siberian Hitchhiking Trip – 2009 | On The Road

  16. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Robbery Attempt, The Café Village and The End | On The Road

  17. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Corrupted Police and The Three Hitchhikers | On The Road

  18. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Cold Night, The Sunset and The Euphoria | On The Road

  19. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Nostalgy, The Frozen Toes and The Curious Kid | On The Road

  20. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Morning, The Driver’s Story and The Road to Tomsk | On The Road

  21. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Farewell, The Stranger and The Night | On The Road

  22. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Road Back, The Jailbird and The Kamaz Trucks | On The Road

  23. Pingback: The Miracles of Lake Baikal | On The Road

  24. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Taiga, The Crows and The Traveler’s Fate | On The Road

  25. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Pregnant Woman, The Names and The Goodbye | On The Road

  26. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Café, The $20 Girls and The Arrival | On The Road

  27. Pingback: The City of Chelyabinsk | On The Road

  28. Pingback: Hitchhiking Siberia: The Start, Gosha the Driver and The Prostitutes | On The Road

  29. Pingback: Սիբիրի ճամփեքին. գիշերային ավտովթար — Աշխարհի Ճամփեքով…

Leave a Reply

