Nagorno-Karabakh Visa Information

Updated on 31 January 2016

Nagorno-Karabakh, or Artsakh, is a de-facto independent republic located in the South Caucasus, bordering Azerbaijan to the east, Armenia to the west, and Iran to the south. Populated predominantly by Armenians, then Nagorno-Karabakh Autonomous Region of Azerbaijan SSR held a referendum and declared its independence in 1991, which resulted in a large-scale war. The ceasefire signed in 1994 defined the current borders of the state. Artsakh is known for its ancient cultural heritage, and its wild nature and hospitality attract more and more travelers every year. Currently, the only way to enter Nagorno-Karabakh is via Armenia. Foreign travelers are required to obtain entry visa.
Map of Armenia and Nagorno-Karabakh, visa infomration

Continue reading